Emma Boelter Says Farewell

EmmaBy Summer Intern, Emma Boelter

Over the past two months working with CCAoA as a policy and research intern I have explored a variety of topics and gained so much valuable experience –I’ve learned about the importance of accessible and affordable child care, how to advocate for positive policy change, how to analyze legislative language, and much more. The first day of my internship I felt nervous and uncertain of what to expect. Is my outfit actually business casual? Is this the correct building? What is a CCDBG? Am I asking too many questions? Thankfully, I was given the first few days to acclimate to my new environment. I did A LOT of reading and research.

This thorough research provided me with a solid basis that prepared me for several projects throughout my remaining weeks. I worked on a variety of projects including updating a database for state child care requirements, attending webinars, working with social media, and creating advocacy tool kits.

I also had the opportunity to attend briefings and hearings on the Hill, which was my favorite aspect of my internship program. I enjoyed getting an inside look as to how policy gets discussed and passed through our government. The experience has encouraged me to step up my advocacy efforts and to get more involved with civil discourse in the future.

One of my favorite briefings was hosted by Save the Children, and the conversation centered around disaster preparedness policies for children, with a focus on the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. As a student at Tulane University, which is located in the city of New Orleans, I found this discussion to be particularly relevant and enlightening.

The speakers discussed that while progress has been made in the implementation of appropriate and effective disaster plans for children across the nation, significant amounts of work still remain to be accomplished. This briefing left me feeling inspired to get involved with this issue and I plan to do so once I return to New Orleans next semester.

More than anything, my time spent at CCAoA has reinforced the idea that whatever my future career endeavors turn out to be, I feel compelled to work with an organization that strives to improve the well-being of our country. I’m inspired by the determination and passion exhibited by the policy team each day at CCAoA, and admire their dedication toward a cause they truly believe in. I feel fortunate to have had an internship here this summer and look forward to becoming a more active advocate for children’s’ rights and other public policy that concerns the well-being and prosperity of all Americans.

Leave a Reply

